Connect with us


CAF: Musa, Odion Ighalo, Alex Iwobi nominated for Player of the Year Awards



Super Eagles’ trio – Alex Iwobi of Arsenal, Ahmed Musa of Al-Naser, and Odion Ighalo of Changchun Yatai – has made the 2018 CAF footballer of the year nomination list.

Musa got two of Nigeria’s 3 goals, during the FIFA world Cup in Russia. The former CSKA Moscow man has been in sublime form for his current club, Al-Naser.

Iwobi of Arsenal and Odion Ighalo of Changchun Yatai of China also caught the attention CAF Technical & Development Committee, and a 20 member panel of experts in charge of nomination.

CAF Player of the Year Awards honour male and female football players, football coaches and football stakeholders, who have been outstanding in the past year.

According to GOAL.COM, the award night is slated for 8th January, 2019. Players will converge in Dakar, the capital city of Senegal, for the awards.

Recall that, last year’s event saw Liverpool and Egyptian international, Mohammed Salah, win the African footballer of the Year Award, after an impressive season with the Reds.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *